Month >> | 1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|10|11|12|

October 3, 2010

Ten Kate Honda in World Supersport – A Decade of Domination


Kenan Sofuoglu's second World Supersport championship for the Hannspree Ten Kate Honda squad

Kenan Sofuoglu's victory today in the 2010 World Supersport championship marks a remarkable decade of domination for the Ten Kate Honda team, supported for the last four years by electronics giant Hannspree.

After securing a maiden victory at Brands Hatch with Karl Muggeridge in 2000, the team has gone on to dominate the series like no other, securing its eighth riders' title with Sofuoglu at Magny-Cours on 3rd October 2010.

Sofuoglu's pole position at Magny-Cours this weekend was the team's 63rd and his second place in the race behind fellow Honda rider, Eugene Laverty, the 120th podium finish for the Dutch-based squad.

Sofuoglu himself is the most successful rider in the history of the World Supersport championship, taking a total of 17 race wins and 39 podium finishes, both of which are a record.

With his 2010 World Supersport title, Sofuoglu joins Andrew Pitt and Sébastien Charpentier, both former Ten Kate Honda riders, as a double championship winner.

Ten Kate Honda – World Supersport championship, 2000-2010
Pole positions 63
Podiums 120
Race wins 61
Fastest laps 56
Championship titles (rider) 8
Championship titles (manufacturer - Honda) 8

Class Records
Most consecutive titles (2002 – 2008) 7
Most consecutive race wins (to Lausitzring 2005) 13
Most consecutive pole positions (to Misano 2005) 12
Most individual rider race wins (Kenan Sofuoglu) 17

Kenan Sofuoglu
Pole positions 12
Podiums 39 (record)
Race wins 17 (record)
Fastest laps 15 (joint record)
Championship titles 2

Kenan Sofuoglu in the final round at Magny-Cours in France

Kenan Sofuoglu - World Supersport champion


< Back|